All of Grace
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
All of Grace

An online community where believers can come and be challenged, edified and equipped with the Word of God unto every good work.

HomeHome  SearchSearch  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

Mark Driscoll's Supporters and Dissenters

Go down 
5 posters
AuthorMessage
Garen83

Mark Driscoll's Supporters and Dissenters Empty
PostSubject: Mark Driscoll's Supporters and Dissenters   Mark Driscoll's Supporters and Dissenters EmptyMon Feb 11, 2008 12:07 am

I should introduce myself. I'm a student at The Master's College (MacArthur's school) in Santa Clarita, CA. I'm originally from MN, where I attend Bethlehem Baptist (Piper's church).

I'm not trying to start a controversial topic, but I'm curious how you cats feel about Mark Driscoll. Guys like Piper and Mahaney really like him, but MacArthur has been openly critical of him. I honestly don't know much about Driscoll myself, so it's hard for me to make a judgment call. I just find the contrast between Piper and MacArthur--both of whom are great men of God--pretty ironic, and I was wondering if you all had any thoughts on that.

Peace.
Back to top Go down
Michael
Administrator
Michael

PostSubject: Re: Mark Driscoll's Supporters and Dissenters   Mark Driscoll's Supporters and Dissenters EmptyMon Feb 11, 2008 2:01 am

Hey, man. Good to see you on the board.

Driscoll has been known in the past to have a bit of a potty mouth. However, in what I've seen and heard recently, he's dramatically improved from where he was. Some of MacArthur's disdain for him may come from Driscoll originally being associated with the likes of Brian McLaren, Tony Campolo and the other leaders of the Emergent Church. Driscoll was one of the original leaders of this movement, but once they began Emergent Village, Driscoll started to distance himself from them.